Ron Richner, Casper, WY, won the 2007 World's Forage Analysis Superbowl grand championship as announced at the World Dairy Expo in Madison, WI, last week. This was the second year in a row that Wyoming growers won that top spot. Other growers from the state also placed well both years.

Richner's third-cutting alfalfa hay entry tested 19.6% crude protein, 26.1% NDF and 52.3% NDF digestibility with a relative forage quality score of 270.6. He will receive a $5,000 coupon toward the purchase of any Kuhn-Knight product.

Another Wyoming grower, Dennis Wambolt of Wambolt Cattle Co., Torrington, took grand champion first-time entrant honors. His fourth-cutting entry tested 22.1% crude protein and NDF, with NDFd at 56.2% and RFQ at 324.6. He won one year's use of a Dairy System from DTN Dairy. The Wyoming entries were submitted courtesy of the Wyoming Business Council.

In the commercial hay category, Paul Peterson, American Fork, UT, took first; Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, WY, took second; and Kellie Hinman, also of Wheatland, placed third.

Top commercial baleage winners include: 1st -- Kendall Guither, Walnut, IL; 2nd --Ainger Farms, Harvard, IL; and 3rd -- Scott Mayer, Effingham, IL.

Dairy haylage winners are: 1st -- Birten Farms Inc., Mt. Calvary, WI; 2nd -- Luke Haywood, Hastings, MI; and 3rd -- Carl Nehm, Ripon, WI.

Dairy hay winners include: 1st -- S&B Dairy, Effingham, IL; 2nd -- Karl and Barb Wogsland, Scandinavia, WI; and 3rd -- Julie Kestell, Waldo, WI.

Dairy corn silage (non-BMR) winners are: 1st -- Goma Dairy Farm LLC, Marlette, MI; 2nd -- Lynn Bros., Unity, WI; and 3rd -- El-Na Farms LLC, Algoma, WI.

BMR dairy corn silage top placers are: 1st -- Luke Haywood; 2nd -- Pine Tree Dairy Farm, Rittman, OH; 3rd -- Hood Farms, Paw Paw, MI.

The annual superbowl is sponsored by Hay & Forage Grower, AgSource Cooperative Services, DairyBusiness Communications, World Dairy Expo and the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Watch for more on Richner's operation in the November issue of Hay & Forage Grower.