Gary Pederson, a USDA-ARS researcher at Griffin, GA, was elected president of the American Forage and Grassland Council (AFGC) during its recent annual conference in State College, PA. Bill Tucker of Tucker Family Farms, Amherst, VA, became president-elect, and Miles Kuhn, FFR Cooperative, Lafayette, IN, was named senior vice president.

Newly elected AFGC directors include Robert Clapper, a producer from East Canton, OH; Ron Atherton, Analab/Agri-King, Fulton, IL; and Chris Teutsch, Virginia Tech. Howard Straub, St. Johns, MI; Chad Hale, DLF International Seeds, Halsey, OR; and Ed Rayburn, West Virginia University, were re-elected to the board of directors.

John Rodgers, Belleville, PA, received the Medallion Award, AFGC’s most prestigious honor. Distinguished Grasslander Awards were presented to Richard Hann, Palmyra, PA; R. Wayne Harpster, Spruce Creek, PA; and John Shenk, Port Matilda, PA. In addition, the following received Merit Awards: David Barker, Columbus, OH; Bruce Coulman, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan; Mike Galbraith, Martinsburg, PA; Allen Hogan, Jennings, LA; and Byron Sleugh, West Des Moines, IA.