Forage production insurance coverage for the 2015 crop year has been made available to several Idaho and Washington counties, USDA’s Risk Management Agency announced recently.

Growers can apply for insurance in Pend Oreille, Spokane and Stevens counties in Washington and Benewah, Boundary, Kootenai, Teton, and Twin Falls counties in Idaho. Coverage was previously available only in Klamath and Malheur counties in Oregon.

The policy states that the irrigated practice is insurable in all the additional counties and the non-irrigated practice is available in select counties. Alfalfa hay is insurable in all the counties. Alfalfa-grass mixes, in which alfalfa comprises less than 60% of ground cover, are insurable in select counties.

The sign-up deadline is Sept. 30.